Werk Werk Werk

So today’s the big day, my first day working at a part-time job in a proper advertising agency. To be honest, I have no idea what I’m doing.

I mean, I’ve been a Social Media Manager before, but for a much smaller agency where assistance was much more readily available and I had a supervisor who helped me with my tasks for the first week. Of course, I have that here in my new job, but unfortunately one supervisor is away in New Zealand for the week, and the other is in Sydney. I could just ring the one in Sydney, but my phone phobia is telling me otherwise.

phone-call

I relate with this stock photo on a deeply personal level

So what do I do?

Well, I have a task list to complete for my first 3 days until someone can help give me a bit of guidance, but until then I’m just winging it. At the moment, I’ve checked and updated all of my emails and started to work through the list, but it’s a bit challenging when you don’t have the access codes to half the things on it. I’m pretty much waiting for the Sydney boss to fly down next week to show me how to do everything and basically teach me how to adult. Until then, I’ve just received a little ‘Welcome to Ogilvy’ care package with an instruction manual and a few other things to read so HALLELUJAH I have something to do.

I guess the first week of a new job is always a tad confusing and all over the place, so I should just expect it and go with the flow. As a side note, it’s funny to think that no one in the office knows that I got the job so they probably think that I’m still the social intern who’s been coming in randomly throughout the year. I’m glad that I have 3 full days a week to settle in and get to know how things get done around here. That’s if I even make it through my first week without stuffing up somehow and melting into a hopeless puddle on the floor.

All jokes aside, I’m really excited that I get to work at such an awesome agency. I’ve already been welcomed into the Social team through a stream of memes and GIFs, so I think I’m going to fit in just fine.

TLDR; ADULTING IS DAUNTING AND I’M NOT SURE HOW I’LL GO BUT I’M JUST PUTTING 100% INTO IT AND WISHING FOR THE BEST.

Adios Amigos *Insert obligatory tweet reference and twitter emoji*

3 thoughts on “Werk Werk Werk

  1. Pingback: Blogs That Were Not Meant to Be | Tea is my Middle Name

Leave a comment